Monday, 26 November 2018

The Diary by Vikki Patis


The Diary by Vikki Patis
Published in the UK by Bookouture today, the 26th November 2018.

How I got this book:
Received a review copy from the publisher via NetGalley

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


‘I know all your secrets, Lauren.’

Lauren has spent years running away from her home town, her childhood and the memories of her best friend, Hannah.

Until the tenth anniversary of Hannah’s death forces her to return home and to the group of friends she abandoned there. It should be a quick visit, just so Lauren can pay her respects.

At home, Lauren finds Hannah’s old diary. A diary full of secrets. The terrible things Lauren did, the lies she’s told, the reason she ran away. And she receives a message:

‘I don’t know why you’re back, but I know why you left.’

But no-one else has seen the diary, and Hannah’s dead, isn’t she?

A suspenseful psychological thriller full of twists and turns – you won’t be able to stop turning the pages of The Diary. Perfect for fans of The Sister, The Girl on the Train and We Were Liars.


I enjoyed Vikki Patis' short story collection, Weltanschauung, self-published almost exactly two years ago, so was delighted to see her get a publishing deal for The Diary, especially as I was then offered the chance to join its blog tour!

I'm not always a fan of the thriller genre because I don't like stories that sacrifice plausibility for excitement. I had no such concerns here though. I was hooked by Lauren's tale from practically the first page and just had to keep on reading to find out what would happen. Patis' characters felt familiar to me as I could remember similar people around me at the same age. I loved the details of both the present day and the decade earlier storylines. It says at the beginning of each chapter when they are set in the then or the now, but I found I could easily switch between periods with necessarily noticing titles because clues such as the maturity of Lauren's outlook were strong identifiers. Detail can make or break atmosphere and believability so I am glad to say my attention wasn't ever ripped away by an inadvertent error or a hang-on-a-minute plothole! Thinking back over the story now, I am re-experiencing the tensions I felt whilst reading, and am still as convinced by the heartbreaking plot.

I don't want to drop any spoilers so am skirting around What Actually Happened to Lauren. It's a tad frustrating because I really want to breathlessly fangirl about The Diary! Perhaps it's enough to say that this is absolutely a novel for the here and now. I loved its themes and representations. Coming  I hope The Diary finds its way onto a lot of TBR and Christmas lists. An exciting and rewarding thriller

Meet the author

Vikki Patis is an author and blogger, as well as an avid reader and book reviewer. When she isn’t working as a Regulatory Affairs Manager, she can usually be found drinking tea, baking cakes, or taking walks in the Hertfordshire countryside. She lives with her partner and two cats.

Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter


Search Lit Flits for more:
Books by Vikki Patis / Thrillers / Books from England

14 comments:

  1. Oh yes, that does sound riveting. I'm hooked just from your description and the blurb. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like a great read that was able to keep your attention the whole way through, I want to check it out now!

    Tori @ In Tori Lex

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you have the chance to read The Diary :-)

      Delete
  3. This book sounds exactly like my cup of tea!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great review! Well you've certainly piqued my interest Stephanie. I do love thrillers, so I'm putting this one on my TBR list.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's great! I hope you get to enjoy the novel :-)

      Delete