Wednesday, 13 March 2019

The Girl Across The Street by Vikki Patis


The Girl Across The Street by Vikki Patis
Published in the UK by Bookouture on the 8th March 2019.

One of my 2019 New Release Challenge reads

How I got this book:
Received a review copy from the publisher via NetGalley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Add The Girl Across The Street to your Goodreads

You’re hiding a secret that only she can see.

Her name is Beth. She came into my life when I needed her the most. We lead very different lives, but she’s the only person who understands me.
She was the only other witness to the terrible accident on the street between our homes. The only person who saw the cracks in my perfect life before I had the chance to cover them up.

It’s been so long since I’ve had a friend. Someone to talk to, to listen to, to laugh and dream with.
Beth would never do anything to hurt me.
She only wants what’s best for me, for my marriage.
Doesn’t she?

An unputdownable psychological suspense thriller that will grip you until the very last page. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and The Couple Next Door.


I loved Vikki's first thriller, The Diary, which I read in November last year, so I was delighted to also be offered the chance to read and review her newest novel, The Girl Across The Street. I admit that its unoriginal 'The Girl' title did have me rolling my eyes, but once past the front cover I soon discovered that this is almost as gripping a story as The Diary. The story begins with a shocking hit and run accident witnessed by two women out late at night. One is insomniac Isla and the other is her near neighbour Beth.

I liked how Patis portrays the developing friendship between these two women. I was as surprised as Isla by Beth's phone call and the swiftness of their connection, especially as I didn't actually like either of the women myself. They initially both come across as weak victims of misogynistic men (and this book should come with a trigger warning for domestic abuse), but becoming friends allows both Beth and Isla to draw strength from each other.

I think The Girl Across The Street is a good thriller to immerse oneself in. There are lots of tense moments and I enjoyed trying to work out how everything would ultimately be resolved. Perhaps the novel doesn't benefit from too much scrutiny after the fact - thinking back now over certain elements (that I won't divulge, obviously!) I find myself querying particular decisions and information, however, at the time of reading, I was happily swept into this exciting tale!

Meet the Author

Vikki Patis is an author and blogger, as well as an avid reader and book reviewer. When she isn’t working as a Regulatory Affairs Manager, she can usually be found drinking tea, baking cakes, or taking walks in the Hertfordshire countryside. She lives with her partner and two cats.

Author Links
Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Goodreads


Search Lit Flits for more:
Books by Vikki Patis / Thrillers / Books from England

2 comments:

  1. The cover definitely fits with the vibe I got based on your review. Sometimes with books like this, I think it is a good thing to get caught up in the story and not analyze too much until being done with it, as you said that it doesn't exactly stand up to the later scrutiny. That way you still enjoy the book and the tension and it does not ruin your experience while reading.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Absolutely true! I got swept up into Vikki's writing at the time of reading and this is a fab story to escape every day stresses.

      Delete

Due to increased spam, I've turned on comment moderation for the time being. Genuine comments will appear after I've checked them!