Friday, 4 September 2020

The Locked Room by Paul Auster


The Locked Room (The New York Trilogy #3) by Paul Auster
Published in America by Sun & Moon Press in 1986.

How I got this book:
Bought a paperback edition at a charity shop

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


The New York Trilogy is perhaps the most astonishing work by one of America's most consistently astonishing writers. The Trilogy is three cleverly interconnected novels that exploit the elements of standard detective fiction and achieve a new genre that is all the more gripping for its starkness. It is a riveting work of detective fiction worthy of Raymond Chandler, and at the same time a profound and unsettling existentialist enquiry in the tradition of Kafka or Borges. In each story the search for clues leads to remarkable coincidences in the universe as the simple act of trailing a man ultimately becomes a startling investigation of what it means to be human. The New York Trilogy is the modern novel at its finest: a truly bold and arresting work of fiction with something to transfix and astound every reader.

I picked up a copy of Paul Auster's New York Trilogy at a charity shop and this review is of the third book in the trilogy, The Locked Room. I've already reviewed City Of Glass (#1) and Ghosts (#2) on Literary Flits.

The Locked Room rounds off the trilogy nicely in that it follows a similar narrative structure of one character being hired, in strange circumstances, to spy upon another and builds upon this device. I enjoyed spotting references to the previous two books - already knowing, for example, the reason for Quinn's suprising disappearance - and I am glad I managed to read them all within a fairly short space of time otherwise I might not have picked up on all these nods to what had gone before. I was also still familiar with Auster's style which aided my enjoyment too. I'm undecided whether City Of Glass or The Locked Room ended up as my favourite story and, actually, I am not sure I would search out any more of Auster's writing any time soon. I'm glad to have now read this acclaimed author, but his work didn't grab my attention to the degree that I know it has other readers.


Search Literary Flits for more:
Books by Paul Auster / Mystery fiction / Books from America

No comments:

Post a comment