Sunday, 24 May 2020

Winters' Gift by Florence Keeling + Excerpt


Winters' Gift by Florence Keeling
Published by Crimson Cloak Publishing on the 15th November 2018.


Winters’ Gift: A heart warming, feel good romantic comedy. 

‘I absolutely adored this book. It gave me all the feels! A charming read full of warmth and heart.’ ***** Kim the Bookworm

Bea Winters is in desperate need of a fresh start. Being bullied at work is not her idea of fun and she longs to follow her dream of becoming a published author. When an advert appears in her local paper to work in a publishing house in the sleepy village of Bloomsdale, it sounds too good to be true. She strikes up an instant friendship with gorgeous aspiring author, Eddie Richards and her dashing millionaire boss Scott Summers. But all isn’t as it seems in the sleepy village of Bloomsdale.

How does the local clairvoyant know her name? Who does the little black dog that keeps appearing belong to and why does she keep bumping into the mysterious Charlie? As she starts to unravel the truth, it seems that everyone in Bea’s life is keeping secrets.  

An uplifting romantic comedy that will warm your heart – perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Milly Johnson and Carole Matthews.  



Excerpt

One of my favourite things about romances is 'the almost kiss', that part where the two would be lovers are getting to know each other and something happens where they 'almost kiss'! Here, Bes, Eddie and Joe are turning Bea's boat around so the other side can be painted.

The banging on the door was bad enough but when the banging moved to the ceiling above her head accompanied with Eddie’s shouting of her name, Bea finally gave up and dragged herself out of bed.
“It’s seven in the morning.”  She poked her head outside and immediately shied away from the sunlight.
“I told you I’d be early.”  He barged past her and headed straight to the cooker, popping the frying pan on to heat.
“But it’s Saturday.”  Bea was very precious about her weekend lie in.
“Exactly.”  He started placing rashers of bacon in the pan which sizzled instantly.  “Need to get the boat turned round before the canal gets too busy.  It’s a bank holiday weekend and what with the fair and the car show here it will be madness soon.”
“Morning young uns.”  Joe’s voice came from outside and Buddy ran out to meet him.
“I had a re-think and we need The Mavis to help push Sophie about.”  Eddie answered Bea’s enquiring look.  “Joe and I have it all planned.  It will go like clockwork.”
And indeed it did go like clockwork, well most of it anyway.  Bea had pushed the pointy end of the boat as she called it despite Eddie constantly telling her it was the bow, away from the edge while Eddie held tight to the rope that they had attached to the stern.  Using the barge pole, Bea pushed The Sophie as far out as she called before Joe slowly used The Mavis to turn her right round.
“Are you sure she won’t get stuck?”  Bea didn’t think the canal was quite wide enough to take the length of The Sophie.
“She’s only a little one.”  Eddie had reassured her.  “She’ll be fine.” 
“Hold her in a bit more.”  Joe shouted to Eddie.  “Only got inches to spare this end.”  Bea watched as Eddie pulled hard on the rope.  “She’s clear.”  The Sophie was now the opposite way round but this was where it started getting tricky.  As Joe continued to push the bow out with The Mavis, Sophie’s stern started to kick out and it was becoming harder for Eddie to hold her.
“Need a bit of help here Bea.”  She stood behind him grabbing the rope and together they held The Sophie as tight as they could. 
“Nearly there.”  Joe called.  “Just a bit more.”  They held tighter and tighter, pulling back against the boat with all their strength.  The Sophie was almost straight now so Bea went and grabbed the rope they had attached to the bow.  She had to use the hook on the end of the pole as she was still a good few feet away from the tow path.
“A bit more Joe.”  Bea reached as far as she could but the rope was just out of reach.  The Sophie edged closer and closer.  “Almost there.”  The hook of the pole was inches away from the rope now so she edged her foot closer and closer.  “Aarghh!”  Bea’s scream was accompanied by a loud splash as she fell right into the canal.  Eddie was there in an instant.
“You ok?”  He was trying not to laugh.
“It’s not funny you know.”  She was treading water and splashing.
“It’s not deep, you can stand up.”  He held out a hand to help her out after she realised she could touch the bottom quite easily.
“I didn’t know that did I?”  She took his hand but instead of helping herself out she pulled him in.  “Now we’re both wet.”  She said as he surfaced through the water right in front of her.  In fact he was so close their faces were almost touching.  She stared into his eyes, then down at his lips then back to his eyes.  Their mouths were so close she could feel his breath.
“What are you two playing at?”  Joe was alongside The Sophie now, chuckling at the state of them.  “Get them ropes tied before she floats away.”  The moment was broken and after helping Bea onto the tow path, Eddie heaved himself onto the boat, throwing the rope over for Bea to catch.



Meet the author 

Florence Keeling adopted for her pen-name her Great Grandmother's name, chosen because of the shared birthday of April Fool's Day.  She is married with two teenage chidren.  Born and raised in Coventry, England she now lives just outside in Nuneaton.  Reflected Destinies is her first novel.

Florence Keeling also writes for children under the name of Lily Mae Walters.

Author links: 
TwitterFacebook ~ Instagram



Etsy Find!
by Annie Davenport in
Midsomer Norton, England

Click pic to visit Etsy Shop

Search Literary Flits for more:
Books by Florence Keeling / Romance fiction / Books from England

No comments:

Post a comment