Thursday, 1 April 2021

Wide Awake by C H Clepitt

Wide Awake (Guild of Dream Warriors 3) by C H Clepitt
Self published on the 8th February 2020.

How I got this book:
Bought the ebook from Smashwords

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

After being forcibly retired from the police, Craig is at a loss. His injury means that he can’t work in security, and he never did like paperwork.

When a blast from his past offers him a mysterious job opportunity, his curiosity gets the better of him, but has he bitten off more than he can chew? 

Wide Awake is book 3 in the Guild of Dream Warriors series. 

Wide Awake follows on from the earlier Guild Of Dream Warriors novellas, My Dream Woman and The Night Knight. I hadn't realised it's been over two years since I read The Night Knight (having managed to miss Wide Awake's publication) so I was pleased that I could remember the overall story arc from brief prompts and mentions of previous events. Clepitt again switches POV so we follow this episode through the eyes of Craig, an injured policeman who is used to taking the lead and making decisions for everybody else. It was interesting to see how this led him into precarious situations in the dream world with which he is completely unfamiliar. I would have liked more description and details of several of the dream locations because I found myself struggling to envisage exactly what our protagonists encountered. Clepitt's characters were, as always, deftly portrayed through their dialogue though and her fast narrative pace means that this series never has a dull moment. A fun, escapist read!

Search Literary Flits for more:
Books by C H Clepitt / Fantasy fiction / Books from England

No comments:

Post a comment